Redefining Type 1 Diabetes

Heya Desai
8 min readOct 13, 2020

--

About 8 years ago, I was experiencing the gloomiest week of my life. I went from being the typical energetic and enthusiastic 7 year old to feeling nothing but fatigued. I spent days leading up to a doctor’s appointment laying on the couch deprived of energy, feeling nauseous, always thirsty and restless. Little did I know that this was leading up to something much more critical than a visit to the family doctor.

On the evening of friday October 26th in 2012, I recall seeing a look of shock and uncertainty on my parents’ faces as I asked my parents questions they didn’t have the answer to while I was rushed to Brampton Civic Hospital. Fast-forward a few hours later, I woke up in a hospital bed with a bunch of wires attached to my hand and a scene of medical professionals and other patients in the surrounding area. At this point I was under the impression that the doctors would prescribe a few medications, conduct a few tests and then I’d be on my way home. Instead, I spent the next few days in the hospital and realized that this was not sickness, but in reality what I experienced was a hypoglycemia attack and that I had an autoimmune disease.

By Stephanie Watson via https://www.healthline.com/health/autoimmune-disorders

I had my first appointment at the Diabetes education centre where I met the team of medical professionals consisting of the pediatrician, nurse, dietician as well as social worker. They taught us about insulin, how to use the glucose meters and provided me with the dietary information that has made me into the EXPERT calorie and carb predictor in all foods I like to believe I am today 🤓. These are the people I see every 3 months for check-ups, medication dose changes, to analyze my glucose readings along with being introduced to the latest developments for treatment.

Over time, I learned about everything from how my pancreas had stopped producing insulin to how dangerous food could be anything from bread to bananas. Undoubtedly, I was scared and confused thinking that I’d have restrictions for the rest of my life. However, as strange as it may sound I eventually felt privileged to know so much about the human body and the impact of what we eat, what we feel and what we do to a degree that most of my friends and family didn’t. I found this sudden urge to spread awareness in any opportunity I got.

What is TD1?

Image by Rob3000 via Dreamstime.com

Type 1 diabetes scientifically known as diabetes mellitus is a disease in which the pancreas produces little to no insulin. About 10% of the population living with diabetes have type 1. The condition ordinarily develops in childhood or adolescence but can also be diagnosed in adults as LADA (latent autoimmune disease of adulthood). Whether TD1 is heredity is undetermined, but according to an article by Medline Plus, the risk of developing the condition is increased by certain genes such as HLA-DQA1 belonging to the family of genes named the human leukocyte antigen (HLA complex).

Key terminology:

Pancreas: a flat and long gland that is located behind the stomach in the upper abdomen. In addition to insulin, it produces enzymes that aid digestion

Insulin: the hormone that controls the glucose levels in your blood. It signals the body to store the excess carbohydrate-turned energy in your liver so it can be released for when glucose-levels are dropping or the body requires a boost of energy.

Insulin medication: the protein hormone in the form of an injection used to maintain healthy glucose levels in the blood.

Symptoms

Symptoms individuals experience prior to diagnose vary person to person, after reflecting on the time leading up to my diagnosis, I’d say I’ve experienced majority of the following similar to most patients. experience:

  • Increased thirst
  • Frequent Urination
  • Extreme Hunger
  • Unintended Weight Loss
  • Fatigue
  • Blurry Vision
  • Wounds and sores that won’t heal
  • Restlessness, irritability and other mood changes

Other Risk Factors:

I know, it’s scary how factors like drinking cows’ milk or eating solid food could be the reason for islet autoimmunity. At the time of my diagnosis, the field of nanomedicine was not as significant and hence are why the possibility of the condition being diagnosed earlier was limited. Developments such as the MRI have revolutionized medicine, doctors are now able to diagnose and predict abnormalities with detailed internal images with the body.

Is Type 1 Diabetes reversible? Have cures been found?

Currently, there are no publicly available cures for the disease however it is treated with insulin and one could become minimally insulin-dependent based on their lifestyle. Fortunately, there is still hope. Clinical studies including TrialNet and FNIH Biomarkers Consortium among more that can be found at this database of clinical studies are researching methods for prevention and reversing the progression of the condition.

My experiences and research triggered my passion and sense of drive to educate others about health and make a difference right then and there during my early childhood years and inspired many of the goals and objectives I’ve set for myself since then, including writing this article. If you overheard any of my conversations with my friends throughout the first year after my diagnosis, they weren’t about the trending rainbow loom bracelets or our immature friendship drama, but me trying to explain the concept of ketoacidosis or the difference between humulin and humalog.

Are you still with me? Yes? Good. So now you know what my young self was trying to tell the world in my not so great storytelling skills at the time. I’ve experienced my fair share of highs and lows and have learned countless lessons after dealing with and overcoming challenges along the way.

I am happy share with you that taking control of your health is vital regardless of having a condition or not.

I might have insulin-dependent diabetes but I have never considered this to be a disability in any way. The medication makes sure my glucose levels stay in check but beyond that, it does no extra magic. The additional steps I took like adapting a comprehensively healthy lifestyle at a young age shined through the surface feelings. For a long time I felt like I was missing out on the fun, but in a true sense I was becoming stronger.

With perseverance, and determining I wasn’t going to let my condition be a weakness, it wasn’t long before I was able to return to my extra-curricular activities and play outside until the sun set. I had and have to be mindful and cautious, even so prioritizing these responsibilities do not take away from anyone living their best life.

Key takeaway: It’s all about Balance⚖️

Balance is not something you find. It’s something you create. — Jana Kingsford

I missed three weeks of school when I was diagnosed so I could adjust to my new lifestyle and navigate my way through the changes before returning to a regular routine. Yeah, it was grade 2 but don’t underestimate the amount of content a kid can miss in french immersion 😤. To make a long story short, I caught up within 2 days and NO I wasn’t a super genius of any kind, the hero was what I was feeding my brain.

Nutritional psychiatry is REAL.

Harvard Medical School MD Eva Selhub explains the impact of food on the brain using a car analogy. Your brain is always “on” and hence requires a constant supply of fuel and what’s in the food affects its performance. We can describe our brains as expensive cars that work best with premium fuel or high-quality food. Foods high in key vitamins, minerals and antioxidants protects our brain from oxidative stress produced when we use oxygen or free radicals that damage cells. On the other hand, diets consisting of processed and refined foods could be considered “low-premium” fuel. As appetizing as donuts for dinner may sound, it isn’t worth the promotion inflammation, oxidative stress and worsening the body’s production of insulin.

“When it comes to what you bite, chew and swallow, your choices have a direct and long-lasting effect on the most powerful organ in your body: your brain. So which foods cause you to feel so tired after lunch? Or so restless at night? Mia Nacamulli takes you into the brain to find out.”

Via https://ed.ted.com/lessons/how-the-food-you-eat-affects-your-brain-mia-nacamulli

It is imperative we see the impact of food and exercise beyond the way it affects our physique. The way I like to see it is, if I am going to have to change my habits eventually as I age, why not change them now? Not only are you being proactive rather than reactive by decreasing the risk of illness as you age but together with accelerating brain function, there are plenty of rewards. These range from mood elevation because of the endorphins produced from exercise to simply being happier.

Healthy eating and living → chemical changes in the brain → better mood → increased willpower → stronger sense-of-drive for achievement

Something my mom has always told me is it’s better to be safe than sorry. Life is not always predictable, nevertheless we can prepare for optimal health by being conscious right from the beginning. Small occurrences can trigger the most unexpected outcomes and what I have learned is, when you begin to sense you are heading on a potentially detrimental path, pause. Realign your actions towards the right direction and what will ensure a bright future in the long-term.

We’ve reached the end, but I want you to open your eyes to a new beginning on the journey of becoming the best version of you.

By Matt Howard via https://unsplash.com/s/photos/journey

References:

“Clinical Trials.” Clinical Trials | ADA, www.diabetes.org/clinical-trials.

Dempster, George, and Patricia G Bailey. “Diabetes.” Diabetes | The Canadian Encyclopedia, 26 Nov. 2008, www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/diabetes-mellitus.

“Earlier Diagnosis and Better Treatment for Type 1 Diabetes.” Advanced Science News, 30 June 2020, www.advancedsciencenews.com/earlier-diagnosis-for-type-1-diabetes/.

Editor. “The Pancreas Is an Organ Located behind the Lower Part of the Stomach, in Front of the Spine and Plays an Important Part in Diabetes.” Diabetes, 9 Mar. 2020, www.diabetes.co.uk/body/pancreas-and-diabetes.html.

Higuera, Valencia. “About Insulin: What It Is, How It Works, and More.” Healthline, Healthline Media, 7 May 2019, www.healthline.com/health/type-2-diabetes/insulin.

MD, Eva Selhub. “Nutritional Psychiatry: Your Brain on Food.” Harvard Health Blog, Harvard Medical School, 31 Mar. 2020, www.health.harvard.edu/blog/nutritional-psychiatry-your-brain-on-food-201511168626.

“Type 1 Diabetes.” DiabetesCanadaWebsite, www.diabetes.ca/about-diabetes/type-1.

“Type 1 Diabetes.” Mayo Clinic, Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research, 22 Aug. 2020, www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/type-1-diabetes/symptoms-causes/syc-20353011.

“Type 1 Diabetes: MedlinePlus Genetics.” MedlinePlus, U.S. National Library of Medicine, 18 Aug. 2020, medlineplus.gov/genetics/condition/type-1-diabetes/.

--

--